Tuesday, October 27, 2009

In a perfect world, there are no unexpected, unwanted surprises and everything you want and/or need is right at your fingertips. The recession seems to be weakening, but not as well as some would like.

Recently, I began to search for a 2nd job, and to my suprise, there were a couple potentials....if I was desperate enough. Will someone who wants and needs something still be picky enough to say "No thanks"? I will. I had an interview with this marketing company--the advertisement about the position teased my mind so much that I put everything into making this position a reality for me. When I went for the interview, the job turned out to be something, not entirely different, but just not what I expected. Although technically I was hired for the position, its not something that I can make happen right now as far as my schedule goes.


Why didn't I take the job? The pay seems decent enough (for now), and I dont want to be subjected to a McDonalds or Papa Johns, so what is good enough and what isn't? For some people, the pay rate an employer offers is enough to make the decision, however, I would need a job that works around my schedule, and something that I know I can do; I can't go off of "training" that may or may not be provided for the job because then I wouldn't feel secure enough to perform the duties


At this point in my college career, where I am almost done, I find the need to simply search for jobs which are not exactly careers, nor in my field, but simply something that will hold me over until I am able to settle down with a career. For a class, I had to complete a job-search packet, which included me actually looking for an open position. It just informed me of what I already knew--finding a job with my major is difficult, and for lack of a better word, non-existent. Although the issues of money will go on for as long as things have a cost, will we ever be secure enough in the wallet to be comfortable?

I just want to live a fancy free, carefree life. But slacking, relaxing and having fun doesn't pay the bills. so unfortunately, EVERYTHING has a cost.....

Wednesday, October 14, 2009

Rebellious ones will agree that when things get to be too much, too stressful or annoying, you'll sacrifice whatever for a few moments of self-sanity in a hectic situation. How many young adults will admit to not paying off a debt, but would rather spend money on frivolous things (i.e. going to the bar, clothes, shoes, etc.)? Basically, I made the bold decision to indulge in a little fun and decides to put my pending bill due dates on hold. Although I will probably suffer some type of consequence, such as overdrafting my account (most likely, twice in a week), but I refuse to let the adult life rule me completely because I feel like in a year or so, i wont be able to do any of this any more because hopefully, I'll be sliding into corporate America, so why not take advantage of it now?

Thursday, October 8, 2009

Worry-some


Financially, I live week by week.
Everything I do is based on the day in the week we are in, and what is upcoming for the following week. I am a little worry-some as to how successful in the pockets I'll be this month, because, as of now, I barely have enough for gas money.
The funny thing about being broke (temporarily) is that you never think to set aside security when you have the cash, and just opt to suffer or deal with brokeness as/if it comes. When you are in a situation or a rut that, at the moment, seems terrible, you become so worry-some, you never think you'll over come the situation or will never think things will get better

Monday, October 5, 2009

Homecoming weekend

In light of my last homecoming @ WCU, I wanted the chance to really enjoy everything that was available to me because prior to the past, I always had to work during Homecoming weekend. So in addition to going to the game, pep rally, etc, I also wanted to hit up EVERY, SINGLE BAR, and get completely disrespectful. For one weekend, I slid my stack of bills to the left, and went shopping, something I hadn't really had the chance to do since the summer. I spent $86 on a one-time outfit, and totalled weekend bar spending equalled $67. Homecoming was a fun as hell, and I really am glad I was able to do everything, however, now I'm suffering. The life of an independant college student costs too much:
-Phone fees: $220.17 (an accident on my part, but damn!)
-Car payment:239.00
-Car insurance-$150.00
Did I mention how all this is due in the SAME week??
You have to give to recieve--I gave into having a fun weekend, and now will recieve a bunch of late payment notices.

Monday, September 21, 2009

Can college-aged people ever get a break?


Recently, I have come across a certain noticable stability in my wallet. Translation? Because I have a job and am able to pay my bills and bar-hop every other weekend, I am able to loan out money, support habits of other people, and am generally the go-to person for people who are not doing so well on the financial side. The funny thing is, that when I was struggling, besides the fact that none of the people who approach me for money are able to help me when/if I'm down, but WOULD THEY?? Personally, I dont like to ask people for things (especially Money); I am a fairly independent person. I have a very strict work ethic and can't imagine not having something that I didnt earn on my own. But it bothers me that on either side, I can't win: suddenly, I would be struck with a case of "you think you're the shit" because my credit is fab, I have spending money and know what to do with it.
I don't like to loan out money, PERIOD. I hate having to wait for it to come back to me, and its just somethign I dont like doing (and I dont hide that fact, either). I hate when people hint @ asking, are bold enough to blatantly make their statements, and just hate when people are complete assholes after I shut them down. For people who know me so well, KNOW that I will say "NO", SO WHY BOTHER?

September 28th, 2009

My particular strike of financial stability hit a bit of a snag when I neglected to pay much attention to the tires on my newly purchased car. Not even two weeks in my possession, yesterday, I apparently went up on a curb and put a hole in my tire. The cost for repair: $148.40--this includes 2 new tires, installation fees, and taxes. Just when I was planning to put all my money towards enjoying my last Homecoming at West Chester University by purchasing numerous outfits, new WCU gear and barhopping